Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Article Image Alt Text
Article Image Alt Text

TEXAS PRESS ASSOCIATION AUSTIN — Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick on June 28 released the names of his appointees to the Texas Legislature’s 2021 Redistricting Committee. Patrick, who presides over the 31-member state Senate, named Sen. Joan Huffman, R-Houston, as chair of the committee, and Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa, D-McAllen, as vice chair. He also named 13 more Senate members to the committee, including Sens. Carol Alvarado, D-Houston; Paul Bettencourt, R-Houston; Dawn Buckingham, R-Lakeway; Donna Campbell, R-New Braunfels; Pete Flores, R-Pleasanton; Kelly Hancock, R-North Richland Hills; Bryan Hughes, R-Mineola; Eddie Lucio Jr., D-Brownsville; Jose Menendez, D-San Antonio; Robert Nichols, R-Jacksonville; Angela Paxton, R-McKinney; Charles Perry, R-Lubbock; Kirk Watson, D-Austin; Royce West, D-Dallas; and John Whitmire, D-Houston. In January, Texas House Speaker Dennis Bonnen, R-Angleton, named 15 members to the House Redistricting Committee, with jurisdiction that includes preparations for the redistricting process. Those members include: Rep. Phil King, R-Weatherford, chair; Rep. Chris Turner, D-Grand Prairie, vice chair; and Reps. Sheryl Cole, D-Austin; Matt Krause, R-Fort Worth; Lyle Larson, R-San Antonio; Jeff Leach, R-Plano; Ben Leman, R-Brenham; Ina Minjarez, D-San Antonio; Joe Moody, D-El Paso; Chris Paddie, R-Marshall; “Four” Price, R-Amarillo; Toni Rose, D-Dallas; Senfronia Thompson, D-Houston; Armando Walle, D-Houston; and James White, R-Hillister.   Read the entire story on the e-Edition of our newspaper. ...

PLEASE LOG IN FOR PREMIUM CONTENT. Our website requires visitors to log in to view the best local news. Not yet a subscriber? Subscribe today!

Advance Publishing Company

217 W. Park Avenue
Pharr, TX 78577